Transient

Committees

Committees have been set up by the Board of Trustees to provide the support needed to achieve the FCCS mission.  Committee membership is open to parents, teachers, and community members.  Please consult the school calendar for committee meeting times. 

Academics Committee

This committee is responsible for making recommendation to the Board in terms of the school's academic program and implementation, and working with staff to help implement high academic standards.

Chair: Justine Somani (academics@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Nkechi Ileka-Adeoye (nkechi.ileka@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Admissions Committee

This committee works closely with the Head of School and FCPS personnel to facilitate the annual lottery and enrollment of new students throughout the year.

Chair:  Laura Mears (admissions@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Jeremy Hurley (jeremy.hurley@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Advocacy Committee

This committee is responsible for improving the operating environment for charter schools by ensuring that they have fair funding and the freedom to innovate.  The committee will focus on improving state and local policy and law and educating parents about school choice.

Chair:  Chris Mears (advocacy@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Allison Rizzo (allison.rizzo@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Communications Committee

This committee is responsible for improving the communications of the school and also for community outreach efforts.

Chair:  Vacant (communications@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Allison Rizzo (allison.rizzo@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Facilities Committee

This committee is responsible for ensuring that our facility is well-maintained and meets the needs of the academic and extra-curricular programs.

Chair: Vacant (facilities@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Phil Anderson (phil.anderson@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Finance Committee

This committee is responsible for ensuring that our budget is prepared and implemented in a fiscally conservative manner.

Chair:  Vacant (finance@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Jen Schneider (jen.schneider@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Fundraising Committee

This committee is responsible for planning and executing fundraising activities.

Chair:  Robyn Maslan (fundraising@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Jen Schneider (jen.schneider@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Grants Committee

This committee is responsible for identifying and pursuing opportunities for grants.

Chair:  Jenifer West (grants@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Jeremy Hurley (jeremy.hurley@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

High School Committee

This committee is working on expansion of classical education in Frederick County into grades 9-12.

Chair:  Vacant (highschool@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Tim Summers (tim.summers@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Social Committee

This committee is responsible for planning and implementing social events throughout the year.

Chair:  Nanci Jacobo (social@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Shelly Smallwood (shelly.smallwood@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Library Committee

This committee is responsible for acquiring and sorting books, and running book fairs.

Chair:  Martina Hatley (library@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Jen Schneider (jen.schneider@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Volunteer Committee

This committee is responsible for organizing volunteers, especially for onsite volunteer work, such as classroom assistance, lunchroom duty, and administrative assistance.  Current volunteer needs are listed on this website, please click here.

Chair:  Lauren Drennan (volunteer@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Shelly Smallwood (shelly.smallwood@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Yearbook Committee

This committee is responsible for publishing the annual yearbook, including managing the photography, writing, and financing of this effort.

Chair:  Tara Dodson (yearbook@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Paul Ormsby (paul.ormsby@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)