Transient

Committees

Committees have been set up by the Board of Trustees to provide the support needed to achieve the FCCS mission.  Committee membership is open to parents, teachers, and community members.  Please consult the school calendar for committee meeting times. 

Academics Committee

This committee is responsible for making recommendation to the Board in terms of the school's academic program and implementation, and working with staff to help implement high academic standards.

Co-Chairs: Tosin Ogunbiyi and Andrea Ormsby, academics@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org
Board Liaison: Nkechi Ileka-Adeoye, nkechi.ileka@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org

Admissions Committee

This committee works closely with the Head of School and FCPS personnel to facilitate the annual lottery and enrollment of new students throughout the year.

Chair:  Enitan Alakija Oweh, admissions@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org
Board Liaison: Laura Mears, laura.mears@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org

Advocacy Committee

This committee is responsible for improving the operating environment for charter schools by ensuring that they have fair funding and the freedom to innovate.  The committee will focus on improving state and local policy and law and educating parents about school choice.

Chair:  Vacant, advocacy@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org
Board Liaison: Allison Rizzo, allison.rizzo@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org

Communications Committee

This committee is responsible for improving the communications of the school and also for community outreach efforts.

Chair: Michael Inskeep, communications@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org
Board Liaison: Allison Rizzo, allison.rizzo@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org

Facilities Committee

This committee is responsible for ensuring that our facility is well-maintained and meets the needs of the academic and extra-curricular programs.

Chair: Vacant, facilities@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org
Board Liaison: Phil Anderson, phil.anderson@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org

Finance Committee

This committee is responsible for ensuring that our budget is prepared and implemented in a fiscally conservative manner.

Chair:  Vacant, finance@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org
Board Liaison: Jen Schneider, jen.schneider@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org

Fundraising Committee

This committee is responsible for planning and executing fundraising activities.

Chair:  Pam Mooney, fundraising@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org
Board Liaison: Jen Schneider, jen.schneider@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org

Grants Committee

This committee is responsible for identifying and pursuing opportunities for grants.

Chair:  Maria Shoemaker, grants@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org
Board Liaison: To be determined

High School Committee

This committee is responsible for developing a foundation and forward-looking options for starting a Classical High School in Frederick County.

Chair:  Marquis Barefield, highschool@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org
Board Liaison: Tim Summers,  tim.summers@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org

Nominating Committee

The nominating committee solicits nominations for Corporation officers and trustees, recommends candidates to the Board of trustees for elections, and organizes the elections.

Chair: Athena Glasby, nomination@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org

Board Liaison: Shelly Smallwood, shelly.smallwood@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org

and Jen Schneider, jen.schneider@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org

Social Committee

This committee is responsible for planning and implementing social events throughout the year.

Chair:  Nanci Jacobo, social@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org
Board Liaison: Shelly Smallwood, shelly.smallwood@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org

Library Committee

The Library Committee is responsible for the maintenance, procurement, and expansion of the FCCS library.  The Committee head maintains the library while supervising a group of volunteers,  checking books in/out, sets a schedule, repairs books, heads FCCS book fairs, and maintains current and relevant materials to support a classical education.  FCCS library is independent of the FCPS library system.

Chair:  Martina Hatley, library@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org
Board Liaison: Jen Schneider, jen.schneider@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org

Volunteer Committee

This committee is responsible for organizing volunteers, especially for onsite volunteer work, such as classroom assistance, lunchroom duty, and administrative assistance.  Current volunteer needs are listed on this website, please click here.

Chair:  Lauren Drennan, volunteer@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org
Board Liaison: Shelly Smallwood, shelly.smallwood@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org

Yearbook Committee

This committee is responsible for publishing the annual yearbook, including managing the photography, writing, and financing of this effort.

Chair:  Tara Dodson, yearbook@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org
Board Liaison: Paul Ormsby, paul.ormsby@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org