Transient

Committees

Committees have been set up by the Board of Trustees to provide the support needed to achieve the FCCS mission.  Committee membership is open to parents, teachers, and community members.  Please consult the school calendar for committee meeting times. 

Academics Committee

This committee is responsible for making recommendation to the Board in terms of the school's academic program and implementation, and working with staff to help implement high academic standards.

Chair: Justine Somani (academics@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Michele Clune (michele.clune@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Admissions Committee

This committee works closely with the Head of School and FCPS personnel to facilitate the annual lottery and enrollment of new students throughout the year.

Chair:  Laura Mears (admissions@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Shelly Smallwood (shelly.smallwood@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Advocacy Committee

This committee is responsible for improving the operating environment for charter schools by ensuring that they have fair funding and the freedom to innovate.  The committee will focus on improving state and local policy and law and educating parents about school choice.

Chair:  Anne Sechler (advocacy@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Lonnie Ropp (lonnie.ropp@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Communications Committee

This committee is responsible for improving the communications of the school and also for community outreach efforts.

Chair:  Allison Rizzo (communications@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Paul Ormsby (paul.ormsby@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Facilities Committee

This committee is responsible for ensuring that our facility is well-maintained and meets the needs of the academic and extra-curricular programs.

Chair: Phil Anderson (facilities@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Phil Anderson (phil.anderson@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Finance Committee

This committee is responsible for ensuring that our budget is prepared and implemented in a fiscally conservative manner.

Chair:  Tim Summers (finance@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Tim Summers (tim.summers@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Fundraising Committee

This committee is responsible for planning and executing fundraising activities.

Chair:  Robin Maslan (fundraising@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Tim Summers (tim.summers@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Grants Committee

This committee is responsible for identifying and pursuing opportunities for grants.

Chair:  Jenifer West (grants@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Tim Summers (tim.summers@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

High School Committee

This committee is working on expansion of classical education in Frederick County into grades 9-12.

Chair:  Open (highschool@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Michele Clune (michele.clune@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Social Committee

This committee is responsible for planning and implementing social events throughout the year.

Chair:  Nanci Jacobo (social@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Tara Dodson (tara.dodson@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Library Committee

This committee is responsible for acquiring and sorting books, and running book fairs.

Chair:  Stephanie Koffman(library@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Lonnie Ropp (lonnie.ropp@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Volunteer Committee

This committee is responsible for organizing volunteers, especially for onsite volunteer work, such as classroom assistance, lunchroom duty, and administrative assistance.  Current volunteer needs are listed on this website, please click here.

Chair:  Martina Hatley (volunteer@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Shelly Smallwood (shelly.smallwood@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)

Yearbook Committee

This committee is responsible for publishing the annual yearbook, including managing the photography, writing, and financing of this effort.

Chair:  Tara Dodson (yearbook@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)
Board Liaison: Tara Dodson (tara.dodson@frederickclassicalcharterschool.org)